What Should You Know Before Comparing Welding Schools?
Not every welding school teaches pipe. Many programs focus on basic MIG and stick welding for fabrication jobs. Pipe welding (SMAW, GTAW, and FCAW on carbon steel and stainless pipe in positions like 6G and 6GR) is a different skill set. Before you compare prices, confirm the school trains on pipe to the standards pipeline and pressure-piping employers test, such as API 1104 and ASME Section IX.
Three questions help you compare outcomes: What share of graduates are working in the field, and within what time frame? How is that number measured (survey, employer verification, accreditation report)? And how long does the program take, since every month in training is a month without a welding paycheck?
What Do Several Schools Publish About Cost and Length?
The table below lists what each school publishes on its own website. It is not a ranking. Program contents, what the price includes, and housing differ from school to school, so read each school’s page before you compare.
| School and program | Published cost | Published length | Housing in the price? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tulsa Welding School, Welding Specialist with Pipefitting | $29,675 total program cost | As little as 9½ months | No |
| Tulsa Welding School, Professional Welder | $24,175 total program cost | As little as 7 months | No |
| Hobart Institute of Welding Technology, Pathways Welding Program (includes a Pipefitter–Pipe Welder pathway option) | $26,485 projected cost | 40 weeks (1,400 hours) | Not stated on the program page |
| Missouri Welding Institute, Master Pipe Welding & Fitting | $25,900 total | 18 weeks (720 hours) | Not stated on the course page |
| Western Welding Academy, Professional Pipe Welder | $27,600 | 19 weeks | Yes |
| Western Welding Academy, Expert Pipe Welder | $35,800 | 24 weeks (960 hours) | Yes |
Western Welding Academy prices cover tuition, tools and gear, and housing; a $350 booth hold payment and a $500 housing security deposit are extra. For Tulsa Welding School, housing is budgeted separately; its off-campus cost-of-attendance budget for Tulsa is $3,015.56 a month.
Ready to start earning? Apply now or call (307) 284-5313 today.
What Does Western Welding Academy Report?
Western Welding Academy is an AWS Accredited Test Facility. In a November 2024 alumni survey, graduates reported 94% hired within 90 days. The school has 2,000+ graduates and students from all 50 states, its instructors bring 330 years of combined instructor experience, and 85% of class time is spent in the booth.
The Professional Pipe Welder program runs 19 weeks at $27,600 and covers SMAW and GTAW pipe welding. The Foundational Pipe Welder program runs 12 weeks at $17,050 for students who want the shortest path into the field. The Expert Pipe Welder runs 24 weeks at $35,800. The Advanced Structural Welding program runs 12 weeks at $25,800.
What Separates a Good Welding School From a Bad One?
Ask every school the same five questions. First, what is the job placement or hire rate, and how is it calculated? Second, how much of the program is spent welding in the booth versus in the classroom? Third, which certifications or welder qualifications can you test for, and where does testing happen? Fourth, how many students does each instructor work with in the shop? Fifth, what does the published price include: tools, gear, testing, and housing?
Write the answers down side by side. A school that cannot tell you how it measures its outcomes, or what its price includes, has not given you enough to compare.
Ready to start earning? Apply now or call (307) 284-5313 today.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. How should I compare pipe welding schools?
Compare published total cost, what that cost includes (especially housing), program length, booth time, and how each school measures its job outcomes.
Q2. How much does pipe welding school cost in 2026?
It depends on the school and program. On their own websites, Tulsa Welding School lists $29,675 for Welding Specialist with Pipefitting, Hobart Institute lists a $26,485 projected cost for its Pathways Welding Program, and Missouri Welding Institute lists $25,900 for Master Pipe Welding & Fitting. Western Welding Academy programs cost $17,050 (12 weeks) to $35,800 (24 weeks), with housing included.
Q3. What job outcomes does Western Welding Academy report?
In a November 2024 alumni survey, graduates reported 94% hired within 90 days.
Q4. How long does it take to become a certified pipe welder?
At Western Welding Academy, the shortest path is the 12-week Foundational Pipe Welder program. The Professional program takes 19 weeks and the Expert program takes 24 weeks. Other schools publish different lengths, from 18 weeks at Missouri Welding Institute to 40 weeks for Hobart Institute’s Pathways Welding Program.
Start Comparing
Every school publishes different numbers in different ways. Ask the questions above, compare the full cost, and choose the program that fits your goals. Call Western Welding Academy at (307) 284-5313 or apply now to ask about the next start date.




